Skip to main content
Skip to main menu


Grace Thomas Award

Dr. Grace Thomas, during her long service to the University of Georgia, placed the education and welfare of undergraduates above her many other duties and responsibilities to the benefit of students and also the department as a whole. The Grace Thomas Award was created to acknowledge Dr. Thomas' efforts by recognizing annually the accomplishments of an outstanding undergraduate in what is now the department of Cellular Biology. The recipient of the award is expected to have excelled in several areas associated within the discipline, including classroom, seminar, and research performance.


Listed below are the past winners of this prestigous award.


1988 Christopher J. McKenzie 

1989 Patrick Abbot 

1990 S. Rebecca Yeomans 

1991 Nancy E. McIntyre 

1992 Robin Ann Kundra 

1993 Kristin Costley 

1994 Shawn H. Turk 

1996 Robert C. Cartwright 

1997 William J. Kaiser 

1998 Brandon R. Clements 

1999 Ryan C. Arata 

2000 Mihir M. Kamdar 

2001 Benjamin Tanner 

2002 John H. Woodruff 

2003 Katherine Williams 

2004 Nwakaso Umejiego 

2005 Ashley E. Owen 

2006 Dustin Williams 

2007 David Burke

2008 Jessica Bryant

2009 Nisha Gupta

2010 L. Megan Beers

2011 M. Logan Davis

2012 Michael S. Burel

2013 David L. Owen

2014 Marianne M. Ligon

2015 Lina Tibavinsky


Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about giving.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.