Past Ritter Lectures

The Department of Cellular Biology is proud to host the Ritter Lecture Series. Past lectures have been given by: Marc Kirschner (2000), Gunter Blobel (2001), Randy Schekman (2002), Edward O. Wilson (2003), Philip Beachy (2004), Arthur Kornberg (2005), Robert Weinberg (2007), Elaine Fuchs (2008), Douglas Melton (2010), Michael A. J. Ferguson (2011), Virginia M.-Y. Lee (2012).

The Ritter lecture series was established in 1999 in honor of Dr. Hope T.M. Ritter Jr., Professor Emeritus of Cellular Biology. The series is designed to bring a distinguished speaker to the University of Georgia campus each academic year. The series is supported by the Ritter Lecture Series Fund created with contributions from family and friends of Dr. Ritter on the occasion of his 80th birthday.

Upcoming Ritter Lectures

The next Ritter Lecture will be announced soon.

Dr. Scott Emr - 2016 Ritter Lecture (Cornell University)
March 15, 2016
Dr. Bruce Alberts (University of California)
January 26, 2015
Dr. Anjana Rao (La Jolla Institute of Allergy and Immunology)
November 18, 2014
Dr. Virginia M.-Y. Lee (University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine)
March 27, 2012
Dr. Mike Ferguson (University of Dundee )
March 22, 2011
Douglas Melton (Harvard University)
March 23, 2010
Elaine Fuchs (The Rockefeller Institute)
September 23, 2008
Robert Weinberg (Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research)
January 9, 2007