Ashley Rasys, form the James Lauderdale Lab, has been selected to receive the 2017-2018 ARCS Foundation Award.

The ARCS® Foundation, Inc. is a national organization committed to advancing science through supporting young American scholars.  These awards go to promising students who are pursuing degrees in science, engineering, and medical research.

Dr. Roberto Docampo has been elected as corresponding member of the Latin American Academy of Sciences (ACAL). The Academy was created in 1982 under the sponsorship of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences, and promotes and contributes to the advancement of mathematical, physical, chemical, earth, and life sciences, and to their application to the development and integration of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Roberto Docampo, Distinguished Research Professor of Cellular Biology and Barbara & Sanford Orkin/Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar, has been named the University of Georgia's recipient of the 2017 Southeastern Conference Faculty Achievement Award. The award recognizes professors with outstanding records in teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for students and other faculty members.