Riju Balachandran is Awarded Two Distinguished Cancer Research Fellowships

Riju Balachandran, a PhD student in Dr. Edward Kipreos’ laboratory, has the outstanding accomplishment of winning both the Mary Loraine Young Hines Graduate Fellowship in Cancer Research and the Grimes Family Distinguished Graduate Fellowship in Natural Sciences from the University of Georgia Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. Each of these fellowships is awarded to just one student working the area of cancer research and provides research funding for a year.

Aaron Harris Wins 2017 Excellence in Teaching Award.

Aaron Harris, from Dr. Karl Lechtreck’s Lab, has received the 2017 Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award, acknowledging excellence and dedication in student teaching. This is the highest honor that the University awards to Graduate Student Teaching Assistants, recognizing an outstanding contribution to the instructional mission of the University. Aaron says,  “I am very thankful to all of those in the department that have supported and encouraged me along the way.

Department Fundraiser Brings in $685 for Student Association

Special thanks to Graduate Coordinator Scott Dougan, who participated in the Athens-Savannah 2016 Double Century bike ride, riding a total of 210 miles over 2 days! Individuals in the department were given the opportunity to make pledges on his ride, and $685 dollars was raised to go to the Cellular Biology Graduate Student Association. The CBGSA plans to use the money they raised to buy graduation gowns and regalia that can be borrowed by program graduates who don’t wish to buy their own.

Duo Peng receives 2016 Innovative and Interdisciplinary Research Grant

The University of Georgia Graduate School has selected Duo Peng, in Dr. Rick Tarleton’s laboratory, to receive the 2016 Innovative and Interdisciplinary Research Grant. This program is part of a strategic initiative to support innovation and interdisciplinarity in the research being conducted by doctoral students at UGA. Duo’s research intersects experimental and computation biology, and develops experimental methods and computation tools to conduct genome screening assays in T. cruzi, enabling T.

PhD Candidate Panagiota Louka is awarded an AHA Fellowship

Congratulations to Panagiota Louka for recently being awarded with an American Heart Association fellowship. Panagiota is a student in Dr. Jacek Gaertig's laboratory, and this AHA fellowship is to fund her research on the identification and characterization of ciliary tip proteins. The ciliary tip is the site where cilia assemble, disassemble and perform sensory functions. Defects in any of these functions can cause developmental disorders, including cardiac diseases. This grant will fully fund Panagiota for 2 years of her PhD studies.

Heather Bishop is awarded an ARCS Foundation Fellowship

Congratulations to Heather Bishop, in Dr. Vasant Muralidharan’s laboratory, for being awarded an ARCS Foundation Fellowship. This is a 3 year monetary award that reflects on her early accomplishment as a scientist. Heather is researching the involvement of ER chaperones in protein trafficking pathways out of the ER in the most deadly human malarial parasite, Plasmodium falciparum.



Subscribe to RSS - Graduate students